No board meeting Monday as directors travel to state Capitol

To the Press

The Charles City Community School District Board of Education will not hold its regular meeting today (Monday), as board members will instead travel to the Iowa Capitol to lobby the Legislature.

Board members will meet on the second floor House lobby prior to being introduced to the Iowa legislature by House Rep. Todd Prichard, D-Charles City. Board members include President Robin Macomber, Vice President Jason Walker, directors Scott Dight, Joshua Mack and Missy Freund and student member Isaiah Tilton.

They will make requests to meet briefly with several key figures at the Capitol to advocate for educational issues.

The Charles City board will be joined in Des Moines by area school representatives from Osage, Riceville, Howard-Winneshiek, Nashua-Plainfield, Clarksville, North Butler, New Hampton, Waverly Shell-Rock and Rudd-Rockford-Marble Rock.

The board members will leave Charles City at 5:30 a.m. from the school district transportation center and arrive at approximately 8:15 a.m. at the Capitol building in Des Moines.

The next school board meeting will be on Monday, Feb. 25, at 6:15 p.m.